Election Anxiety

Most days I casually watch the news but last night’s presidential debate captured my complete attention. I was intently interested in every issue, not because I’m so politically minded, but because I still love my country, and I deeply care about our children’s future.

As I listened, a deep anxiety gnaws at my gut. I found myself both agreeing and arguing with the television screen. My anxiety grew more ferocious with each exchange. I finally stopped watching the debate and went to our mid-week prayer gathering. A small group of us gathered at God’s throne, and God whispered, “Be anxious for nothing.”

The economy, government entitlements, immigration issues, our foreign policy, Iran’s nuclear quest and the precarious state of Israel are among the most pressing political concerns facing our presidential candidates and the voters. Election anxiety is common and will grow unabated as long as we believe politics will save us. But an anxious heart is calmed with the realization of one simple truth.

Only God can save this country.

One of the most powerful kings of Scripture, Nebuchadnezzar, went totally bonkers from anxiety, “until he knew that the Most High rules in the kingdoms of men, and that God gives it to whomever He chooses.” (Daniel 4:32).

The politics of Jesus’ world were horrible, and it often made His disciples anxious. Jesus calmed their hearts by saying, “My kingdom is not of this world…” or in other words, “Don’t worry about it… for I go to prepare a place for you.”

Who will live in the White House for the next four years? I don’t know, but I do care. How much should I care? Where do I draw the line between taking personal responsibility and trusting God? The answer is simple.

I will cast my vote along with other responsible citizens and then I will cast my cares upon the Lord. The election will soon be over and the sun will rise the next day. Things are likely not to be as bad as I thought they might be and life will go on. I will follow Jesus and live for His glory. Is that simple enough?

I want to live my life for Jesus and trust God in all the details.

2 Comments

Filed under culture

2 responses to “Election Anxiety

  1. Jan

    You are right, Pastor Tom. I’m a Christian, too, and I have found myself telling God what to do, who to let win (Romney, in my case), and what I’m going to do if Obama wins (which is to be depressed and give up). And then I find your blog, and I remember that GOD is in control, not me. Not Mitt. Not Obama. God. All He expects me to do is stay true to my values and cast my vote. And then step aside and let God move. :)

Leave a Reply

